Resources

Quest Magazine

Caregivers: Teaching Independencehttp://quest.mda.org/article/caregivers-teaching-independence
Couple with FA Are Each Other's Caregivershttp://quest.mda.org/article/couple-fa-are-each-others-caregivers
A Dozen Ways to Ask for Helphttp://quest.mda.org/article/dozen-ways-ask-help
One Giggle at a Timehttp://quest.mda.org/article/one-giggle-time
In Sickness, in Health and in Lovehttp://quest.mda.org/article/sickness-health-and-love
Caregiver Exercises: Simple Ways to Resist Injuryhttp://quest.mda.org/series/exercising-muscle-disease-series/caregiver-exercises
Parenting: Caregiving for Your Child Starts with a Healthy, Happy Youhttp://quest.mda.org/article/parents-beat-back-burnout
Plan Ahead for Emergencieshttp://quest.mda.org/article/plan-ahead-emergencies
Parent-Caregivers: Learning to Let Gohttp://quest.mda.org/series/journey-independence-road-map/parent-caregivers-learning-let-go
Taking Time Out for the Rest of Your Lifehttp://quest.mda.org/article/taking-time-out-rest-your-life
Caregivers: Teaching Independence http://quest.mda.org/article/caregivers-teaching-independence

MDA/ALS Newsmagazine

Caregiving Technology Offers Safety, Security and Peace of Mindhttp://alsn.mda.org/article/caregiving-technology-offers-safety-security-and-peace-mind
New MDA Website Seeks to Lend a Handhttp://alsn.mda.org/article/new-mda-website-seeks-lend-hand
Not Gloom and Doom: Demystifying Hospicehttp://alsn.mda.org/article/not-gloom-and-doom-demystifying-hospice
MDA ALS Support Groups: Caring for Caregivers Toohttp://alsn.mda.org/article/mda-als-support-groups
Tips for Helping Your Caregiver Copehttp://alsn.mda.org/article/tips-helping-your-caregiver-cope
Robotic Caregiving Assistance Becoming a Realityhttp://alsn.mda.org/article/robotic-caregiving-assistance-becoming-reality
Role Reversal: When Children Care for a Parent with ALShttp://alsn.mda.org/article/role-reversal-when-children-care-parent-als
Book Review — A Family Caregiver Speaks Up: It Doesn't Have to Be This Hardhttp://quest.mda.org/article/books-july-august-2008
Holiday Stress Busters for Caregivershttp://alsn.mda.org/article/holiday-stress-busters-caregivers
Reducing Caregiver Stress May Help Loved One's Depressionhttp://alsn.mda.org/article/reducing-caregiver-stress-may-help-loved-one%E2%80%99s-depression
Caregivers: Say 'Yes' to Offers of Helphttp://alsn.mda.org/article/caregivers-say-yes-offers-help
Give It a Rest: Tips for Sleep-Deprived Caregivershttp://alsn.mda.org/article/give-it-rest
Teaming Up to Share Caregivinghttp://alsn.mda.org/article/teaming-share-caregiving

Other MDA Resources

myMuscleTeamhttp://www.mda.org/myMuscleTeam/
MDA's myMuscleTeam is a free and simple way for you to receive strength from a personally created community — your “Muscle Team” of family and friends. You can create private, secure Web pages to keep family members and friends updated, as well as recruit and schedule assistance with caregiving tasks.

myMDAhttp://mymda.mda.org/
Visit the myMDA online community to share experiences, exchange helpful tips and resources, and cultivate new friendships with other caregivers. You must be 18 or older to participate. Registration is free.

MDA ALS Caregiver's Guidehttp://www.als-mda.org/Publications/alscare/
Although this Caregiver's Guide is specific to ALS, many of the caregiver tips shared are universal for all caregivers.

MDA Services http://mda.org/publications/mdasvcs/
MDA is the gateway to information, resources and specialized health care for individuals and families coping with neuromuscular disease. This booklet provides basic information about MDA services and programs.

Learning to Live with Neuromuscular Disease: A Message for Parents http://www.mda.org/publications/learning/
This message to parents includes topics such as the importance of reaching out, coping with family who don't understand and more.

Preparing for Emergencies: A Checklist for People with Neuromuscular Diseases http://www.mda.org/publications/emergency_checklist.pdf
Valuable information about planning ahead for emergencies is included in this brochure.

Meals for Easy Swallowing http://www.als-mda.org/publications/meals/
In addition to recipes for easy-to-swallow foods, swallowing tips and techniques are included in this guide for individuals with ALS.

A Teacher's Guide to Neuromuscular Disease http://mda.org/publications/tchrdmd/
Ahelpful guide for parents navigating educational advocacy issues, and an excellent resource for teachers who have children and adolescents affected by a neuromuscular disease in their classroom.

Hey! I'm Here, Too http://mda.org/publications/hey/
A booklet to help siblings of boys with muscular dystrophy explore how they feel about themselves, their brothers and their families.

Other Online Caregiver Resources

ElderCare Onlinehttp://www.ec-online.net/community/communit.htm
Resources, tips, information, support and a directory of online elder care support groups

Empowering Caregivershttp://www.care-givers.com/
Links to message boards and online forums

Family Caregiver Alliancehttp://www.caregiver.org/
Online caregiver discussion group and directory of programs at national, state and local levels

Family Caregiving 101http://www.familycaregiving101.org/
Site includes a message board for family caregivers

AAPR Caregiving Resource Centerhttp://www.aarp.org/relationships/caregiving-resource-center/
Support for caregivers of older family members

Full Circle of Carehttp://www.fullcirclecare.org/
Support for family caregivers, including respite services

National Family Caregivers Associationhttp://www.thefamilycaregiver.org/
Caregiver message boards and a Family Caregiver Pen Pal program

National Respite Locator Service http://www.archrespite.org/
Find state and local respite services

Rosalynn Carter Institute for Caregiving Scholarshipshttp://www.rosalynncarter.org/Mattie%20Stepanek/
Four $2,500 scholarships are awarded

ShareTheCaregivinghttp://www.sharethecare.org/
The original model for organizing and maintaining a volunteer caregiving group

Strength for Caringhttp://www.strengthforcaring.com/
Resources and an online caregiver community

Today's Caregiverhttp://www.caregiver.com/
A digital magazine, resources and caregiver discussion forum

Well Spouse Associationhttp://www.wellspouse.org/
Support groups and online discussion forums